Big Chop #2

Hey there gals and guys! It has been long overdue for another post; I’m back and here to stay. SO during my looong period of being off the grid, I ended up cutting my hair.😱 I know, I know I get this question asked all the time; why did you cut your hair? It was soo long! Now granted my hair did get pretty long and I was very much in love with it. So to answer everyone’s question it was damaged and the only style that I could do was braid out…..BORING!

 

Now don’t get me wrong the look was gorgeous to me but, what I wanted to do most was a wash n’ go. If you’re not familiar with the lingo “wash n’ go” check it out below.

Wash N’ Go – A term referring to a relatively quick and easy styling session whereby a defined finished style is achieved without twisting, braiding, knotting, rodding, etc. Hair is first cleansed and conditioned. Coils/curls are then defined with gel or a styling cream and allowed to air dry or dried using a diffuser attachment on a blow dryer set to a low temperature. May be abbreviated as WnG or W&G.

So one day I just got so damn tired of two different textures in my hair. So I decided to be a big girl and cut off all the damaged ends. I thought that I could let the damaged hair grow out and clip off so many inches as I go; that was a complete no go. See the way my patience is set up when it comes to my hair or getting it done; I have none😂. So it was a normal wash day for me I shampooed my hair first with Carol’s daughter (Black Vanilla Sulfate-free shampoo), deep conditioned with Carol’s daughter (Black Vanilla hydrating conditioner), and Carol’s daughter leave-in conditioner (Black Vanilla moisture & shine). So after detangling with black vanilla hydrating conditioner, I sectioned my hair off into fours and then split one section in half and started racking my fingers through. When doing that off the flip you will be able to determine where your cut off is. Be sure to use shears only when cutting your hair, DONT use fabric scissors, meat scissors, first aid kit scissors, and or child proof scissors for Pete sakes LOL. If you look below it shows how it turned out from beginning to end. Now granted I felt 100% better about the damaged ends being gone but it felt like there was no shape to my hair so I had to do something about that.

 

So I called my aunt over that used to be a beautician back in the day and asked her to create the tapered look on my hair. For the first time in life I wasn’t nervous about getting the cut because it was for the better and that it’s going to grow back; no worries. Not to mention I knew that I was going to rock the hell out of this cut so let’s get er done.😆 I had people making snide remarks saying, “don’t do it it’s your hair”, “You gone be bald-headed”. I had to look around for a minute to find some fucks to give; cause I didn’t care about people and their thoughts about my image🤷. So I got the cut and IMMEDIATELY started on my wash n’ go, chile I could not wait I was overly excited. And when I say the turn out was amazing, I fell in love with the look. Now that I think🤔 about it I miss that cut but, I’m not cutting my hair again unless it’s a state emergency. Here is the tapered cut:

 

The damaged ends are gone and transformed into a beautiful tapered cut. The tapered cut has now blossomed into a beautiful head full of curly hair, this 2nd big chop has been an amazing journey. I wouldn’t change anything about it, I NOW know what to do, and what not to do. And my new goals are to grow out long healthy curls. Don’t EVER let anyone tell you about your natural hair because just like fine wine…Natural hair get’s better with time.

 

Thanks for hanging with me today, please subscribe feel free to leave a comment and share. Until next time 💋 TTYL!

7 thoughts on “Big Chop #2

  1. Love this blog and I am so proud to say that I have travel this hair journey with her. Her hair is so healthy and beautiful she makes me want to go natural BUT I am not there yet…..lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment